Sanjaya Lall Visiting Professorship Panel Discussion 2024

Sanjaya Lall Visiting Professorship Panel Discussion 2024

The Sanjaya Lall Memorial Fund is proud to welcome Professor Daron Acemoglu as the Sanjaya Lall Visiting Professor of Business and Development at the University of Oxford.

Join Professor Acemoglu and an expert panel featuring Professor Sir Christopher Pissarides and Professor Helen Margetts, chaired by Professor John Vickers, to discuss the topic:

'The Future of Work in the Age of AI'

Thursday 2nd May, 17:00 – 19:00

Saïd Business School, Nelson Mandela Lecture Theatre


Please click HERE to register for this event



About the speaker


daron acemoglu

Daron Acemoglu

MIT Economics

Daron Acemoglu is the Elizabeth and James Killian Professor of Economics at MIT and an elected fellow of the National Academy of Sciences, American Philosophical Society, the British Academy of Sciences, the Turkish Academy of Sciences, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, the Econometric Society, the European Economic Association, and the Society of Labor Economists. In 2005 he received the John Bates Clark Medal awarded to economists under forty judged to have made the most significant contribution to economic thought and knowledge. In 2019 he was named Institute Professor, MIT’s highest faculty honor. In 2024, Acemoglu was awarded the Sanjaya Lall Professorship at the University of Oxford. This year, the Sanjaya Lall Professorship is hosted by the Saïd Business School.



About the Sanjaya Lall Professorship


In memory of Professor Sanjaya Lall.


The Sanjaya Lall Visiting Professorship at the University of Oxford was created to honour the memory and academic legacy of Professor Sanjaya Lall (1940-2005). The distinguished scholarship scheme has run for over a decade, inviting some of the most prestigious international economists to the University. In 2023, the Department of Economics hosted Professor Joseph E. Stiglitz as the Distinguished Sanjaya Lall Visiting Fellow, and Professor Raj Chetty as the Sanjaya Lall Visiting Professor.