Honouring Gavin Cameron: Economist and Econometrician

Gavin Cameron was an outstanding applied econometrician, held in high esteem by those he worked alongside, collaborated with and taught. Gavin passed away after a battle with illness in 2007 and both he and the passion and rigour he bought to research and teaching have been deeply missed.

In 2017 to perpetuate his memory and give inspiration to others from his achievements and courage, it was decided to create a prize for the best student in the undergraduate final year econometrics paper. In 2018 the inaugural prize was won jointly by Ellen Kennedy, Magdalen College (Politics, Philosophy and Economics) and Daniel Mead, St John’s College (History and Economics).

The most recent Gavin Cameron Prize for best performance in Econometrics has been awarded to Gupta Saatwik – Christ Church (E&M).


Past prize recipients:

2017-18 – Ellen Kennedy, Magdalen College (PPE) & Daniel Mead, St John’s College (History and Economics).

2018-19 – Felix Tan, Balliol College (E&M)

2019-20 – Jee Woon Jung – HMC (PPE)

2020-21 – Emilia Feldman, Keble (E&M)

2021-22 – Gupta Saatwik  - Christ Church (E&M)

For those who wish to make a donation to the Memorial Prize Fund, the Department of Economics have created a dedicated Giving Page here.