Leverhulme Prize 2022


The Leverhulme Trust published the full list of 2022 Prize winners on the 21st October, including four academics from the University of Oxford.

The prize is awarded to “researchers at an early stage of their careers whose work has had international impact and whose future research career is exceptionally promising.” Professor Adams-Prassl won the award for her research developing new empirical techniques, and harnessing new sources of data, to understand the sources and consequences of inequality in the labour market and beyond. Her work has been published in leading outlets in Economics, Law, and Human-Computer Interaction and has been the subject of a number of prizes including: a European Research Council Starting Grant; an ESRC Future Research Leader Award; a Turing-HSBC-ONS Data Science Award; the Wedderburn Prize for the best paper in the Modern Law Review; as well as prizes for her research impact, including the ESRC Outstanding Impact on Public Policy prize.


In response to the news, Abi said:

I am honoured and delighted to win the Philip Leverhulme Prize! The prize will allow me to develop a new agenda uniting my research on gender inequality with that on flexible work arrangements and natural language processing of job advert text. Of course, research is never a lone endeavour. I'm so grateful for the supportive research environment and culture at the Department of Economics and my brilliant co-authors without whom this work would not be possible.

Head of Department Hamish Low commented:

“The Prize is well deserved recognition of the truly outstanding work that Abi has done. Her work is changing how we think about behaviour within families and about how economic decisions impact gender inequality. Abi’s work has both depth and impact. She is an inspiration to current and future generations of economists.”

The three other 2022 prize recipients from the University of Oxford are:

  • Professor Sebastian Bonilla, Department of Materials, University of Oxford for his work on semiconductor optoelectronic materials and devices. (Engineering Prize)
  • Dr Harrison Steel, Department of Engineering Science, University of Oxford for his work on engineering new biotechnologies that combine the strengths of synthetic biology, robotics, control     engineering, and artificial intelligence (Engineering Prize)
  • Professor Sam Wolfe, Faculty of Linguistics, Philology, and Phonetics, University of Oxford for his work on French and romance linguistics. (Languages and Literatures Prize).